City of San Antonio Economic Development

The Culture of Business

The Newest Contributor: Meet Vanessa Rogers

Vanessa

Good afternoon San Antonio!

My name is Vanessa Rogers.  Although I’m a native of San Antonio, it’s been a while since I’ve lived in the city.  I graduated from the University of Texas at Austin in 2005.  Bright-eyed and bushy-tailed with a Communications degree plastered proudly on my wall, I went out into the “real-world” to make a difference.  Opportunities were said to be everywhere. I could do and be anything I wanted I could possibly imagine. The smack in the face was a hard one.  The real-world was a serpentine labyrinth and within a matter of months, I had lost my way.

Looking to reinvigorate the bushiness of my tail and brightness of my eyes, I took a drastically different direction towards Chile in South America. My last semester previous to the “real world” was spent studying abroad in Italy, followed by backpacking in Europe. There, far away from everything I knew, a language I understood, and a culture that was my own, I came alive. My hope, when I jumped on that plane was that the dimness that has seeped into my spirit would diminish.   It was a good plan.  In Chile, as an English teacher, I faced numerous challenges, difficult students, inadequate heating, poor language abilities, and a serious lack of money, but my spirit radiated.  Travel invigorated me in a way that nothing ever had. New people, sounds, sights, tastes were rejuvenating, shaking my dormant senses awake. Challenges, although frustrating only proved to empower.  I’d always been a good student, but travel took learning to a new realm.  The world had so much to offer and I drank in as much as my mind and stomach could handle.

After Chile, I taught in South Korea for a couple of years where I decided that learning about the world wasn’t a phase, but needed to be something integral in my life so I applied and was accepted in the International MBA program at UTSA.

Now, in the final phases of my masters, I’m ecstatic to be able to work with the Economic Development department of San Antonio attracting international trade to our vibrant city. The labyrinth is still a frightening place, and I may not have it all figured out, but I’m on the right path, and so is this innovative city. As a blog contributor, I will do my best to write engaging stories about San Antonio’s business culture.  This city exudes opportunities for small, medium and large business owners alike and we at the Economic Development Department intend to help the world discover its many delights.

Follow me on Linkedin

Follow me on twitter

One comment on “The Newest Contributor: Meet Vanessa Rogers

  1. Elizabeth Grojean
    June 14, 2013

    Looking forward to hearing more!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 13, 2013 by in Uncategorized.

Pin with us!

Follow Me on Pinterest
